通用选择器
只有完全匹配
在标题搜索
在内容搜索
搜索帖子
搜索页面
通用选择器
只有完全匹配
在标题搜索
在内容搜索
搜索帖子
搜索页面

合作伙伴

合作伙伴

无家可归项目

  • 彭里斯法官停车场

2018年20月,温特沃斯(Wentworth)领导了一个跨机构项目,该计划将一群XNUMX人在彭里斯(Penrith)中央商务区繁忙的停车场安睡。

这种情况对每个人都产生了不利影响,停车场居民的身心健康状况日趋恶化,社区被禁止进入公共停车场和厕所。

温特沃斯认识到传统的外展方式行不通,因此探索了成功的案例,说明有大批人被安置在公共场所并返回社区。 我们遇到了伊恩·德·琼(Iain de Jong)的工作,他在美国和加拿大领导了许多成功的项目,以结束更大的帐篷城市-并调整了自己的流程来满足我们的需求。

应温特沃斯(Wentworth)的要求,彭里斯(Penrith)成员召集了一次跨机构会议,召集了主要服务提供者和与该地区无家可归者一起工作的利益相关者。 温特沃斯(Wentworth)同意成为骨干组织,负责与每个机构会面以探讨其作用,利用其优势并确定关键任务和时间表。

参与的机构包括平台青年服务,彭里斯市议会,家庭和社区服务部(FACS)住房,可能的基督传教会(CMP),新南威尔士州警察局和新南威尔士州无家可归者。 小组成立后,我们将共同努力,为每个在停车场睡得不好的人提供支持和住房解决方案。

该项目取得了成功,只有两个人完工后仍住在现场。 在该项目的时间范围内,将近半数在停车场睡觉的人接受了安置或与家人重新联系的支持。 与家人重新联系的人将获得长途火车票和搬家帮助等非住房帮助。

  • 霍克斯伯里帐篷营地

基于法官停车场项目的成功,温特沃斯于2018-19年度被邀请参加一个类似的项目,以安置33人,他们在霍克斯伯里地区的帐篷营地中睡了很多年。

该项目使Wentworth与社区和司法部(DCJ),警察,心理健康,平台青年服务和地方慈善机构Hawkesbury Helping Hands合作。 新南威尔士州无家可归者也参与了观察活动。

在项目开始时清单上的33个名字中,只有17个在最后的理事会清理日留在了住处。 温特沃斯和DCJ成功安置了XNUMX人。

该项目的成功意味着温莎地区的几个公共场所可以归还给社区,包括麦格理公园,看台,南溪和游船坡道。

在该项目成功的背后,温特沃斯(Wentworth)被邀请介绍:

  • 设计专业无家可归服务的大师班(2019年XNUMX月)
  • 在精神健康夏季论坛上(2020年XNUMX月)
  • 作为新南威尔士州无家可归者州会议(2020年XNUMX月)专家小组的一部分

温特沃斯(Wentworth)承认达鲁格(Darug),贡杜古拉(Gundungurra)和维拉久里(Wiradjuri)人民是我们工作的土地的传统所有者,并尊重过去和现在的长辈以及在我们社区生活或工作的所有土著人民。

©温特沃斯社区住房。 版权所有。

跳到内容

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Partnerships

Partnerships

Homelessness Projects

  • Judges Car Park, Penrith

In July 2018, Wentworth led a cross-agency project to house a group of 20 people who were sleeping rough in a busy car park in the Penrith CBD.

The situation was having a negative impact on everyone involved, with the physical and mental health of those living in the car park deteriorating and the community being denied access to the public car park and toilet.

Recognising the traditional outreach approach was not working, Wentworth explored successful examples of large groups of people being rehoused and public space returned the community. We came across the work of Iain de Jong, who has led successful projects in the U.S. and Canada to end much larger tent cities – and adapted his processes to meet our needs.

At Wentworth’s request, the Member for Penrith convened a cross-agency meeting bringing together key service providers and stakeholders working with homeless people in the region. Wentworth agreed to be the backbone organisation, responsible for meeting with each agency to explore its role, draw on its strengths and identify key tasks and timeframes.

Participating agencies included Platform Youth Services, Penrith City Council, the Department of Family and Community Services (FACS) Housing, Christ Mission Possible (CMP), the NSW Police Force and Homelessness NSW. Once the group was established, we worked collaboratively to provide support and housing solutions to each of the people sleeping rough in the car park.

The project was a success with only two people still living at the site at completion. Almost half the people sleeping rough in the car park accepted support to be rehoused or reconnect with family inside the project’s timeframe. Those who reconnected with family were offered non-housing assistance in the form of long-distance train tickets and assistance with moving.

  • Hawkesbury Tent Encampments

Based on the success of the Judge’s Carpark project, in 2018-19 Wentworth was invited to join a similar project to rehouse a group of 33 people who had been sleeping rough in tent encampments across the Hawkesbury region for a number of years.

The project saw Wentworth working with the Department of Communities and Justice (DCJ), the Police, Mental Health, Platform Youth Services and local charity, Hawkesbury Helping Hands. Homelessness NSW were also involved in an observing role.

Of the 33 names on the list at the beginning of the project, only five remained in residence on the final council clean-up day. 17 people were successfully housed by Wentworth and DCJ.

The success of the project meant several public spaces in the Windsor area could be returned to the community including Macquarie Park, the Grandstand, South Creek and the boat ramp.

On the back of the success of this project, Wentworth was invited to present:

  • A Masterclass on Designing Specialist Homelessness Services (November 2019)
  • At the Mental Health Summer Forum (February 2020)
  • As part of an expert panel at the Homelessness NSW State Conference (February 2020)

Wentworth acknowledges the Darug, Gundungurra and Wiradjuri peoples as the traditional owners of the land on which we work and pay respect to Elders, past and present, and to all Aboriginal people living or working in our communities.

© Wentworth Community Housing. All rights reserved.

Skip to content